Ten things to think about while waiting for the money to roll in ;-)

Well, the letters are on their way to 200 opportunity seekers. Here are some thoughts about this (in no particular order) that have crossed my mind:

1.) The letter states that this is not an illegal chain letter because you are offering something of value for the $1.00 fee. That something is adding the person’s name to your mailing list. The letter cites a regulation (TITLE 18, SEC 1302 & 1342 OF THE U.S. POSTAL AND LOTTERY LAWS).

2.) There were two names on the list that I bought from the mailing list company that were from Puerto Rico. I went ahead and sent them the letter, too. I am not familiar with mail to PR and the U.S Virgin Islands. I wonder if one of those two will respond?

3.) The mailing list company offered to email the list of 200 names to me in a data file (they actually sent over 250). I chose that option rather than asking them to mail me the list on address stickers. I was impatient to get this experiment going! The data file worked great! It was easy to print the addresses on the labels (Avery #5160).

4.) The $32.00 for the 200+ labels got me their 30-day hotlist labels. The company said that these names are guaranteed to be less than 30 days old, and that they are all people that have responded to some kind of opportunity seeker ad in the last 30 days.

5.) It will be interesting to see what kind of response I get from this list. I saved all the names, so any responses I get within the next four to six weeks, I can cross-check with the list and keep track. I will report this back in later posts.

6.) If this letter produces even a fraction of what it claims it should bring in ($800,000), this will be a LOT of one-dollar bills… Will my bank be willing to exchange them for larger bills, or even to take the time to count them when I deposit them in the bank?

7.) What kind of record keeping will work best for keeping track of the results and showing the cash income to report to the IRS?

8.) What would be the best and most profitable use of the list of names I get back along with the one-dollar bills?

9.) If this DOES eventually produce tens of thousands of letters coming in, how will the mailbox storefront react to this volume of mail coming into a medium sized mailbox? (DREAM ON!!!)

10.) Again, if this brings in a LOT of mail, it will be quite a job opening all the mail and entering each name in a spreadsheet…

Leave a comment